Skip navigation

To pay homage to  Alexander McQueen’s final fashion show, I have decided to recreate the graduate critique in a Gothic fashion. http://tmagazine.blogs.nytimes.com/2010/03/09/alexander-mcqueens-final-show/

As Laura pointed out in her lecture, make-up is everything in Goth culture. It essentially masks who you are, or what you do not like about yourself and can somewhat transform you into something else; whether that is more beautiful, a different gender, different race, ect. Therefore, I had to reach out of my comfort zone and into a strange make-up bag. I never apply or wear make-up, so I was a little nervous that I would not get able to pull off the “Goth Look”.  However, I quickly realized that Goth’s master their signature look due to never mastering to how properly apply make-up, and my worries were washed away by copious amounts of eye shadow.

The dog was giving me weird looks, people would look, but not smile at me in Fred Meyer, and some lady in the art building asked me what kind of bully would give me TWO black eyes. However you look at it, this rainbow child was feeling dark and goth.

So, then came time for the fashion critique. I kept doing the ungoth thing by giggling and smiling in front of the camera. Goth culture is so dark and silly at the same time, it was hard for me to take it seriously without cracking before the shutter closed. I enlisted the help of a fellow, more fashionable, grad student than myself.

I wanted dramatic lighting, weird scenarios, and an overall dark feel to the photos.

Kate and Mr. Bones were great models. Probably more sassy, dark, and serious than I will ever be. The theme of our shoot was definitely bones and black. We both had bone jewelry, hair accessories, clothing and props. We obviously decked ourselves in nothing but black clothing and make-up. Overall the shoot was a lot of fun, but after this experience I have come to realize that I am just too cheery and colorful to ever pass as a Goth.

The drawings represented were made by Heidi Morel, Adam Ottavi, and Tatiana Piatanova. The real graduate critique was very constructive and informative. Everyone involved got fabulous feedback. In academia, you have to remember that a critique is not a scary or dark place(unlike the Goth world). It is a safe place to be honest, open, constructive, and of course, critical, hence the word critique. In so many ways, critiques help you become a better artist, and even a stronger person. I look forward to the upcoming critiques this week to see who has pushed their boundaries, comfort zones, and ideas into unimaginable levels.


One Comment

  1. I love it Heidi–great entry!


Leave a Reply

